شلل بيل الحاد

شلل بيل هو السبب الأكثر شيوعًا  من شلل الوجه. 20-30 شخصًا لكل 100000 من السكان يتطورون كل عام.   في الحالات النموذجية ، إما يستيقظ الناس مع عدم عمل جانب واحد من وجههم ، أو يلاحظون ضعفًا يتطور في جانب واحد من وجههم على مدار ساعات ، أو حتى ثلاثة أيام. يحدث الضعف في الجبهة والعين والخد والشفة. من الشائع أن يعاني الأشخاص من تغيرات في الذوق ، والحساسية للضوضاء الصاخبة ، وبعض الألم الخفيف خلف الأذن أو حولها. في حين أن السبب لم يتم إثباته بالكامل ، تشير معظم البيانات إلى إعادة تنشيط فيروس Herpes Simplex. هذا شائع إلى حد ما  عادة ما يتم اكتساب الفيروس في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة ، ويبقى كامنًا داخل الأعصاب القحفية.  يتم "تنشيط" الفيروس من خلال حدث مثير مثل: الإجهاد ، أو الإرهاق ، أو كبت المناعة ، أو الإصابة بمرض آخر. 

ما يقرب من 70٪ من الأشخاص الذين أصيبوا بشلل الوجه النصفي يتعافون تمامًا.  يتفق معظم الأطباء على أن المنشطات تسرع وتحسن النتيجة الإجمالية.  هناك المزيد من الجدل حول ما إذا كانت الأدوية المضادة للفيروسات مفيدة أيضًا ، ولكن بشكل عام تشير البيانات إلى أن عقار فالاسيكلوفير له فائدة متواضعة في التعافي بشكل عام.  كانت هناك أيضًا العديد من الدراسات التي حاولت تحديد ما إذا كانت الجراحة يمكن أن تساعد في شلل بيل.  على وجه التحديد ، يعتقد بعض الجراحين أن حفر العظم بعيدًا عن القناة التي يمر من خلالها العصب الوجهي ، سيمنحه مساحة أكبر للشفاء ، ويقلل من أي ضغط خارجي يؤدي إلى مزيد من تلف الأعصاب.  مثل العديد من العلاجات في الطب ، كان تأثير هذه الجراحة المعينة ، التي تسمى تخفيف ضغط العصب الوجهي ، خادعًا تمامًا ، حيث أظهرت بعض الدراسات أن العملية تفيد الناس ، بينما أظهرت دراسات أخرى عدم وجود فائدة.

في المراحل الأولى من شلل بيل ، كانت القضية الأكثر أهمية هي حماية العين ، حيث لا يستطيع الناس أن يرمشوا بشكل فعال.  تستخدم قطرات العين خلال النهار ، والمراهم السميكة  والمواد الهلامية في الليل. يعد لصق العين بحيث تظل مغلقة أثناء النوم ممارسة شائعة للغاية.  أولئك الذين يتعافون إلى طبيعتهم تمامًا لا يحتاجون عادةً إلى علاج طبيعي أو تدخلات أخرى. ( العناية بالعيون )

تكمن صعوبة شلل بيل في أن 30٪ من المرضى يعانون من بعض الخلل الوظيفي طويل الأمد في حركات الوجه. يمكن أن يتراوح هذا الخلل الوظيفي من خفيف للغاية (لن يلاحظه أحد سوى المريض) ، إلى شديد إلى حد ما (يبدو المريض مختلفًا في الراحة وأثناء القيام بتعبيرات الوجه). تظهر الأعراض عادة على شكل شد في الجانب المصاب وحركات لا إرادية لجزء من الوجه عندما يقوم الشخص بتحريك جزء آخر من الوجه عمدًا. تتم إدارة هذه الظاهرة ، المسماة بالحركة الحركية ، من خلال العلاج الطبيعي لعصب الوجه ، وكذلك باستخدام البوتوكس ، والتدخلات الجراحية في بعض الأحيان.

عندما يتم تشخيص مريض بشلل بيل ، من المهم التأكد من عدم تفويت أي حالة أخرى. إذا تطور الضعف بالكامل (بمعنى أنه لم يعد يتغير إلى الأسوأ) في غضون 72 ساعة من البداية ، وشهد المريض بعض الأدلة على الشفاء في غضون أربعة أشهر (حتى أصغر جزء) ، فمن المحتمل أن يمثل شلل بيل. ومع ذلك ، إذا كانت الحالة تتطور بشكل أبطأ ، على سبيل المثال على مدى أسابيع إلى شهور ، أو إذا لم تظهر الحالة على الإطلاق أي علامة على الحل في الأشهر الأربعة الأولى ، فيجب إجراء اختبار تشخيصي أكثر شمولاً للتأكد من أن نوعًا آخر من الأمراض هو لا يفوتك.

3.5 months.jpg
before 2.jpg

شلل بيل المزمن مع التحريك العضلي

normal_eafcdb1a83c742430336f2e17cd351ab.
a027f0556eb7c4d238801bfce9f03739.jpg

Bell’s Palsy is the most common cause of facial paralysis; 20-30 People per 100,000 population develop it each year.   In typical cases, people either wake up with one side of their face not working, or they notice weakness developing on one side of their face over the course of hours, or up to three days. The weakness occurs in the the forehead, eye, cheek, and lip. It is common for people to have changes in taste, sensitivity to loud noises, and some dull pain behind or around the ear. While it’s cause is not entirely proven, most data point to reactivation of Herpes Simplex virus. This rather common virus is usually acquired in early childhood, and stays dormant within the cranial nerves.  The virus gets “activated” by a triggering event such as: stress, fatigue, immunosuppression, or acquiring another illness. 

Approximately 70% of people who develop Bell’s palsy recover completely.  Most clinicians agree that steroids speed up, and improve the overall outcome.  There is more controversy surrounding whether antiviral medications also help, but in general the data point to valacyclovir as having a modest benefit to overall recovery.  There have also been many studies which have tried to establish whether surgery can help in Bell’s Palsy.  Specifically, some surgeons believe that drilling the bone away from the channel through which the facial nerve travels, will give it more room to heal, and decrease any external pressure that creates more nerve damage.  Like many therapies in medicine, the effect of this particular surgery, called facial nerve decompression, has been tricky to fully establish, with some studies showing that the operation benefits people, and other studies showing no benefit.

In the early phases of Bell’s Palsy, the most important issue is protecting the eye, since people are unable to effectively blink. Eye drops are used during the day, and thicker ointments and gels at night. Taping the eye so that it stays shut during sleep is also extremely common practice.  Those who recover to completely normal usually do not need physical therapy or other interventions. (Eye Care)

The difficulty with Bell’s Palsy is that 30% of patients develop some long-term dysfunction to their facial movements. This dysfunction can range from extremely mild (nobody but the patient would notice it), to rather extreme (patient appears different at rest and while making facial expressions). Symptoms usually manifests as tightness on the affected side, and involuntary movements of one part of the face when a person is intentionally moving another part of the face. This phenomenon, called synkinesis, is managed with facial nerve physical therapy, as well as with BOTOX, and occasionally surgical interventions.

When a patient has been diagnosed with Bell’s Palsy, it’s important to be certain that no other condition is being missed. If the weakness is fully evolved (meaning no longer changing for the worse) within 72 hours of onset, and the patient experiences some evidence of recovery within four months (even the tiniest bit), then it is likely to represent Bell’s Palsy. However, if the condition develops more slowly, for example over weeks to months, or if the condition shows absolutely no sign of resolution in the first four months, then more thorough diagnostic testing should be performed to be certain that some other kind of pathology is not being missed.

Acute Bell's Palsy

Chronic Bell's Palsy with Synkinesis

 Contact us at (617) 573-3641

or visit MassEyeAndEar.org

Massachusetts Eye and Ear  Boston, MA

Designed by TJ Danenza

Request an

Appointment

(617) 573-3641