بوتوكس  لعلاج شلل الوجه

توكسين البوتولينوم (المعروف أيضًا باسم البوتوكس) هو أحد أبسط العلاجات وأكثرها فعالية للمرضى الذين يعانون من ضيق في الوجه والتشابك الناتج عن شلل الوجه المزمن. يعمل البوتوكس عن طريق منع إطلاق ناقل عصبي يسمى أستيل كولين ، وهو ما تستخدمه الأعصاب لإخبار العضلات بالانقباض أو الشد. ومن ثم ، توكسين البوتولينوم  يريح العضلات المشدودة جدًا ويمكن أن تمنع حركات الوجه اللاإرادية أو الحركة الحركية. في حين أن البوتوكس الذي نستخدمه لشلل الوجه هو نفس الدواء المستخدم لأغراض تجميلية (لتقليل التجاعيد مع حركة الوجه) ، فإن التأمين سيغطي عادةً استخدام البوتوكس لمرضى شلل الوجه.

في مركز عصب الوجه ، نحن خبراء في تحديد عضلات الوجه والرقبة حيث يوجد توكسين البوتولينوم  يمكن إعطاؤه لتحسين تناسق الوجه ، وتحسين ابتسامة المريض ، وتقليل التشابك الحركي ، وتخفيف الضيق. سنساعد المرضى على تحديد موعد بدء استخدام البوتوكس أثناء زيارة الاستشارة الأولية. غالبًا ما نوصي بثلاثة أو أربعة  جلسات العلاج الطبيعي قبل البوتوكس لمساعدة المرضى على تعلم استخدام عضلات وجههم بشكل أفضل قبل إضعاف عضلات معينة. سنقوم بعد ذلك بجدولة المرضى للحضور لزيارة البوتوكس. تستغرق العملية نفسها أقل من 5 دقائق وتتضمن بضع عصي بإبرة دقيقة لإعطاء الدواء للعضلات المناسبة. توكسين البوتولينوم  يبدأ العمل بعد 2-5 أيام من الإعطاء ويكون التأثير الأقصى حوالي أسبوعين بعد الإجراء. يستمر البوتوكس من 3 إلى 6 أشهر ، وفي ذلك الوقت سنعاود المرضى لإعادة إعطاء الدواء ومعايرة الجرعات والعضلات المستهدفة ، حسب الضرورة.

_DSC9314.JPG
DSC_5931.jpg
_DSC9317.JPG

في حين أن مرضى شلل بيل عادة ما يتعافون تمامًا ، فإن 15-30 ٪ من المرضى سيصابون بدرجة معينة من شلل الوجه المزمن ، ويعانون من ضيق في الوجه والرقبة ، وحركات الوجه اللاإرادية في منطقة واحدة من الوجه أثناء تعبيرات الوجه (هذه الظاهرة) يسمى synkinesis). يمكن أن تؤدي الحالات الأخرى مثل متلازمة رامزي هانت ، ومرض لايم ، واستئصال الورم العصبي السمعي ، وأمراض المناعة الذاتية إلى ضيق الوجه والتشابك على المدى الطويل. تنشأ هذه المشاكل من التجدد غير الطبيعي لأعصاب الوجه بعد الإصابة ؛ بدلاً من نقص التجديد ، يمكن أن يكون الانتعاش غير منظم أو مفرط الحماس.

88788.jpg
90114.jpg
88789.jpg
90115.jpg
a027f0556eb7c4d238801bfce9f03739.jpg
60e62029e06857111f51fced6aa8da6d.jpg
64c328f8d5adae891b46364cbe969fa7.jpg
e02e4ce524e00e5f87c059a15cf531b7.jpg
a60627dbc97701c453a4bbf43ebb34c0.jpg
215b1a6c122d9d18ada7961b2e3eb8b8.jpg

البوتوكس إلى Orbicularis Oculi

0935fddfa6a2538d76e02df432364fben.jpg
6d49f2fec6d0l7836bfb4fd0c4040d44a.jpg

البوتوكس إلى Orbicularis Oculi

BOTOX for Facial Paralysis

Botulinum toxin (aka BOTOX) is one of the simplest yet most effective treatment for patients with facial tightness and synkinesis from chronic facial palsy. Botox works by blocking release of a neurotransmitter called acetylcholine, which is what nerves use to tell muscles to contract, or tighten. Hence, Botulinum toxin relaxes muscles which are too tight and can prevent involuntary facial movements, or synkinesis. While the Botox we use for facial palsy is the same medication that is used for cosmetic purposes (to decrease wrinkling with facial movement), insurance will typically cover Botox use for patients with facial palsy.

At the Facial Nerve Center, we are experts in identifying the facial and neck muscles where Botulinum toxin can be administered to improve facial symmetry, improve a patient’s smile, decrease synkinesis, and relieve tightness. We will help patients decide when to begin Botox during the initial consultation visit. We often recommend three or four physical therapy sessions PRIOR to Botox to help patients learn to use their facial muscles better before weakening certain muscles. We will then schedule patients to come in for a Botox visit. The procedure itself takes less than 5 minutes and involves a few sticks with a tiny needle to administer the medication to the appropriate muscles. The Botulinum toxin begins working 2-5 days after administration and the maximal effect is approximately 2 weeks after the procedure. Botox lasts 3-6 months, at which time we will see patients back to re-administer the medication and titrate the doses and muscles targeted, as necessary.

While patients with Bell’s Palsy usually make a complete recovery, 15-30% of patients will develop some degree of chronic facial palsy, and suffer from facial and neck tightness, and involuntary facial movements in one area of the face during facial expression (this phenomenon is called synkinesis). Other conditions such as Ramsay Hunt Syndrome, Lyme Disease, acoustic neuroma resection, and autoimmune disease can also result in long-term facial tightness and synkinesis. These problems arise from abnormal facial nerve regeneration after injury; rather than a lack of regeneration, the recovery can be disorganized or over-zealous.

 Contact us at (617) 573-3641

or visit MassEyeAndEar.org

Massachusetts Eye and Ear  Boston, MA

Designed by TJ Danenza

Request an

Appointment

(617) 573-3641