نقل العصب الوجهي تحت اللسان (نقل XII-VII)

Picture4.jpg

العصب تحت اللسان هو المسؤول عن تحريك اللسان ، ولكل منا زوج من الأعصاب تحت اللسان ، واحد لكل جانب من جوانب اللسان. على كل جانب ، يخرج العصب من الجمجمة وينتقل في الجزء العلوي من الرقبة خلف الغدة تحت الفك قبل دخول اللسان ، حيث يوفر تعصيبًا لعضلات اللسان. يمكن إعادة توجيه بعض ألياف العصب تحت اللسان نحو عضلات الوجه لمساعدة المرضى الذين يعانون من شلل الوجه عندما تكون هناك فرصة ضئيلة أو معدومة لاستعادة العصب الوجهي الأصلي.

       

تاريخيا ، كان العصب تحت اللسان يستخدم في كثير من الأحيان لإنعاش الابتسامة في المرضى الذين يعانون من شلل الوجه. على وجه التحديد ، تم قطع جزء أو عصب تحت اللسان بالكامل ، وتم توصيله بكل أو فرع من العصب الوجهي الذي يعصب عضلات الابتسامة. في كثير من الأحيان ، يتم حصاد طعم عصبي لسد الفجوة بين العصب تحت اللسان وعصب الابتسامة. بينما لا يزال من الممكن استخدام العصب تحت اللسان لمساعدة المرضى على الابتسام ، يستخدم العديد من الجراحين عادةً العصب الكتلي لهذا الغرض لأنه يتجنب الاضطرار إلى استخدام طعم عصبي ، ولديه نسبة مراضة أقل من التضحية بعصب المتبرع ، وقد يوفر ابتسامة أفضل للمرضى  (5-7 نقل العصب) .

 

ومع ذلك ، ما زلنا نستخدم جزءًا من العصب تحت اللسان لاستعادة النغمة في وجوه المرضى. المرضى مرشحون لهذا الإجراء إذا كانوا يعانون من شلل الوجه الرخو ، دون فرصة لاستعادة العصب الوجهي الأصلي.  إذا كان المريض مرشحًا لنقل العصب تحت اللسان والوجه ، فإننا عادةً ما نقوم بهذا الإجراء في نفس الوقت الذي نقوم فيه بإجراءات أخرى مثل التطعيم عبر العصب الوجهي وإجراءات نقل الأعصاب من 5 إلى 7. يتم إجراؤه تحت التخدير العام. يتم إجراء شق شد الوجه على الجانب المصاب ويمتد إلى تجعد طبيعي في الرقبة ، للسماح بتحديد العصب تحت اللسان. كما نحدد العصب الوجهي من خلال هذا الشق. يتم بعد ذلك توصيل ما يقرب من 40٪ من ألياف العصب تحت اللسان بالعصب الوجهي ، باستخدام طعم عصبي أو فرع طبيعي من العصب تحت اللسان.  بعد خياطة الأعصاب معًا باستخدام المجهر ، يتم إغلاق الشق ووضع تصريف صغير.  يمكث المرضى عادة ليلة واحدة في المستشفى ويعودون إلى المنزل في صباح اليوم التالي بعد إزالة البالوعة.  جميع الغرز قابلة للذوبان ، لذلك لا يوجد شيء يتطلب عودة المرضى لإزالتها.  يمكن للمرضى أن يتوقعوا رؤية تحسن في الجانب المصاب من وجههم ابتداءً من 9-12 شهرًا بعد الجراحة.

Picture62.png

خياطة الأعصاب معًا تحت الرؤية المجهرية

Hypoglossal Facial Nerve Transfer (XII-VII Transfer)

              The hypoglossal nerve is responsible for moving the tongue, and we each have a pair of hypoglossal nerves, one for each side of the tongue. On each side, the nerve exits from the skull and travels in the upper neck behind the submandibular gland before entering the tongue, where it provides innervation to the tongue’s muscles. Some fibers of the hypoglossal nerve can be re-purposed toward the facial muscles to help patients with facial palsy when there minimal to no chance for recovery of the native facial nerve.

              Historically, the hypoglossal nerve was often used for smile reanimation in patients with facial palsy. Specifically, part or the entire hypoglossal nerve was cut, and connected to all or a branch of the facial nerve which innervates the smile muscles. Often, a nerve graft would be harvested to bridge the gap between the hypoglossal nerve and smile nerve. While the hypoglossal nerve can still be used to help patients smile, many surgeons typically use the masseteric nerve for this purpose as it avoids having to use a nerve graft, has less morbidity from sacrifice of the donor nerve, and may provide an even better smile for patients (5-7 Nerve Transfer).

              However, we still use a part of the hypoglossal nerve to restore tone in patients’ faces. Patients are candidates for this procedure if they have flaccid facial paralysis, without a chance for recovery of the native facial nerve. If a patient is a candidate for hypoglossal-facial nerve transfer, we typically perform this procedure at the same time we perform other procedures such as cross facial nerve grafting and 5-7 nerve transfer procedures. It is performed under general anesthesia. A facelift incision is made on the affected side extending into a natural crease in the neck and the hypoglossal nerve is identified. We also identify the facial nerve through this incision. Approximately 40% of the fibers of the hypoglossal nerve are then connected to the facial nerve, using a nerve graft or a natural branch of the hypoglossal nerve. After suturing the nerves together using a microscope, the incision is closed and a small drain is placed. Patients usually stay one night in the hospital and go home the next morning after the drain is removed. The stitches will be removed 1-2 weeks after surgery. Patients can expect to see improved tone on the affected side of their face beginning 6-12 months after surgery.

Suturing nerves together under microscopic vision

 Contact us at (617) 573-3641

or visit MassEyeAndEar.org

Massachusetts Eye and Ear  Boston, MA

Designed by TJ Danenza

Request an

Appointment

(617) 573-3641