العلاجات الطبية لشلل الوجه

يُعتقد أن إعادة تنشيط فيروس الهربس البسيط (HSV) هو السبب الكامن المحتمل لشلل الوجه النصفي. يمكن أن يحدث شلل الوجه النصفي بسبب الإجهاد والتعب والعدوى بفيروس آخر وأي حالة تؤدي إلى ضعف المناعة. يرتبط الحمل أيضًا بشلل الوجه النصفي ، وغالبًا ما يحدث خلال الثلث الثالث من الحمل.

              في حين أن 70 ٪ من مرضى شلل الوجه النصفي يتعافون تمامًا ، فإن 30 ٪ من المرضى يعانون من آثار مزمنة من هذه الحالة مثل ضيق الوجه والتهاب المفاصل. ومع ذلك ، هناك أدوية يمكن أن تزيد من فرص المرضى في الشفاء التام. الدعامة الأساسية للعلاج هي الكورتيكوستيرويدات لتقليل الالتهاب وتورم العصب الوجهي. يجب أن يبدأ بريدنيزون في أقرب وقت ممكن بمجرد تشخيص شلل الوجه النصفي. في مركز عصب الوجه ، نصف 60 مجم بريدنيزون يوميًا لمدة 5 أيام ثم يتناقص التدريجي خلال الأيام الخمسة التالية. هناك أيضًا بعض الأدلة التي تشير إلى أن الجمع بين الأدوية المضادة للفيروسات والمنشطات يمكن أن يحسن التعافي من شلل الوجه النصفي. ومن ثم ، فإننا في مركز عصب الوجه نصفي فالاسيكلوفير (فالتريكس) بالإضافة إلى بريدنيزون.

              ليس من السابق لأوانه أبدًا زيارة مركز العصب الوجهي عندما يتم تشخيص إصابة الشخص بالشلل الوجهي الحاد. في مركز عصب الوجه ، سنعمل مع المرضى للتأكد من إجراء الفحوصات الصحيحة ، وبدء الأدوية الصحيحة ، وتحديد موعد المتابعة اللازمة لزيادة احتمالية الشفاء التام. إذا لم يتعافى المرضى تمامًا ، فلدينا العديد من الخيارات لعلاج شلل الوجه المزمن.

_DSC9043.JPG

Medical Therapies for Facial Paralysis

Reactivation of herpes simplex virus (HSV) is thought to be the likely underlying cause of Bell’s palsy. Bell’s palsy can be triggered by stress, fatigue, infection with another virus, and any condition leading to immune compromise. Pregnancy is also associated with Bell’s palsy, most often occurring during the third trimester.

              While 70% of patients with Bell’s palsy make a full recovery, 30% of patients will have chronic sequelae from the condition such as facial tightness and synkinesis. However, there are medications which can maximize patients’ chances of making a complete recovery. The mainstay of treatment is corticosteroids to decrease inflammation and swelling of the facial nerve. Prednisone should be started as soon as possible once the diagnosis of Bell’s palsy is made. At the Facial Nerve Center, we prescribe 60 mg Prednisone daily for 5 days and then taper off over the ensuing 5 days. There is also some evidence to suggest that combining antiviral medications with steroids can improve recovery from Bell’s palsy. Hence, at the Facial Nerve Center we prescribe Valacyclovir (Valtrex) in addition to Prednisone.

              It is never too early to visit the Facial Nerve Center when one has been diagnosed with acute facial palsy. At the Facial Nerve Center, we will work with patients to assure the right tests have been performed, the correct medications have been started, and the necessary follow up is scheduled to maximize the probability of a complete recovery. If patients do not make a complete recovery, we have many options to treat chronic facial palsy.

 Contact us at (617) 573-3641

or visit MassEyeAndEar.org

Massachusetts Eye and Ear  Boston, MA

Designed by TJ Danenza

Request an

Appointment

(617) 573-3641