متلازمة موبيوس

هل لديك متلازمة موبيوس؟

نستطيع المساعدة.

يولد الناس أحيانًا بضعف في أحد جانبي الوجه أو كلاهما. قد يشمل الضعف جميع انقسامات الوجه ، أو الجزء العلوي أو المركزي أو السفلي من الوجه فقط. يشار عادة إلى شلل الوجه الثنائي الخلقي بمتلازمة موبيوس .  يمكن أن يكون ضعف الوجه عند الولادة مرتبطًا بطفرة جينية ، أو كجزء من متلازمة ، أو يمكن أن يكون مرتبطًا بصدمة داخل الرحم أو صدمة الولادة. الطريقة الوحيدة للتمييز بين مشكلة أو متلازمة وراثية والصدمة هي مراقبة علامات التعافي.  عادةً ما تؤدي إصابات الولادة ومشاكل الوضع داخل الرحم إلى درجة معينة من الشفاء ، على الرغم من أن التعافي قد لا يكون مثالياً.  في العصر الحديث ، تقل احتمالية حدوث إصابات الولادة والإهانات داخل الرحم مقارنةً بالطفرات الجينية البسيطة أو المتلازمات ، ولا يُشتبه بشدة عند ولادة المرضى بضعف في الوجه. تتم إدارة كل حالة من حالات شلل الوجه الخلقي بشكل مختلف قليلاً. في كثير من الأحيان ، يعمل المرضى بشكل جميل من وجهة نظر تنموية ، ولا يحتاجون إلى أي تدخل على الإطلاق حتى يصبحوا في سن المدرسة ويهتمون بمحاولة تحقيق المزيد من توازن الوجه أو الحصول على ابتسامة أكثر أهمية.  ومن المثير للاهتمام أن الأطفال الذين لا يستطيعون إغلاق أعينهم جيدًا حتى منذ الولادة ، يكونون قادرين على التكيف بسهولة أكبر بكثير من البالغين الذين يفقدون وظيفة الوجه.  هناك العديد من الخيارات للأطفال المصابين بالشلل الخلقي في الوجه ، تتراوح من الحقن البسيطة إلى إضعاف الجانب الصحي للوجه المفرط النشاط ، وصولاً إلى الجراحة لاستعادة الابتسامة الديناميكية. يلعب العلاج الطبيعي أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في تحسين الوظيفة للأطفال ، وبحلول سن الرابعة تقريبًا ، يمكن للأطفال أن يكونوا متعاونين بشكل كامل مع هذا النوع من التمارين. توافق معظم المراكز على أن الأطفال دون سن الخامسة أو السادسة ليسوا مرشحين جيدين مثل المرضى فوق هذا العمر ، من أجل إنعاش الوجه بشكل رسمي ، لأن الأطفال يكبرون أوعيتهم ويزداد احتمال نجاح نقل العضلات.  لهذا السبب ، فإن أقرب جراحات إنعاش الوجه هي سن 5-6 سنوات.  

            تشمل المتلازمات التي ترتبط عادةً بضعف الوجه متلازمة غولدنهار / ميكروسوميا نصفي الوجه ، ورابطة تشارج ، ومتلازمة فاكترل.

يمكن أن يحدث شلل الوجه الثنائي بسبب عدد من الحالات. وأكثرها شيوعًا هي الحالة الخلقية أو متلازمة موبيوس أو داء لايم.  سبب شائع آخر لشلل الوجه الثنائي هو متلازمة جيلان باريه ، وهو اعتلال الأعصاب الصاعد ، مع مكون مناعي ذاتي.  هناك نوع مختلف من GBS يتضمن الوجه فقط ، وهو ما يسمى متلازمة ميلر فيشر ، ويتم التعامل معه بنفس طريقة GBS. غالبًا ما تحدث متلازمة GBS و Miller Fisher بسبب نوع من العدوى الفيروسية.  

            تشمل الأسباب الأخرى لشلل الوجه الثنائي كسور الجمجمة الثنائية التي تشمل كل من العظام الصدغية وأنواع معينة من التهابات الدماغ مثل التهاب السحايا وأنواع معينة من السرطان مثل سرطان الغدد الليمفاوية التي تدخل في السائل النخاعي ، مما يسبب ضعفًا ثنائيًا.  الساركويد ، مرض الورم الحبيبي ، يمكن أن يسبب أيضًا شللًا ثنائيًا في الوجه ، كما يمكن أن تسبب أنواع معينة من سرطان الدم ، كريات الدم البيضاء المعدية (أحادي) ، وعدوى فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية الحادة.

            يعتمد علاج شلل الوجه الثنائي كليًا على سبب حدوثه. قد تتطلب بعض الحالات ، مثل كسور العظام الصدغية ، الجراحة ، حيث يحتاج البعض الآخر إلى علاج طبي على وجه التحديد للسيطرة على المرض الذي يسبب مشكلة الأعصاب. يعد التشخيص والإدارة الشخصي للغاية أمرًا ضروريًا عندما يصاب المرضى بضعف ثنائي في الوجه.

Moebius Syndrome

Sometimes people are born with weakness on one or both sides of the face. The weakness might involve all of the divisions of the face, or only the upper, central, or lower part of the face. Congenital bilateral facial paralysis is usually referred to as Moebius syndrome.  Facial weakness at birth can be related to a genetic mutation, or as part of a syndrome, or it can be related to in-utero or birth trauma. The only way to distinguish between a genetic problem or syndrome, and trauma, is to observe for signs of recovery.  Usually birth trauma and in-utero positioning problems will result in some degree of recovery, even though recovery might not be perfect.  In the modern age, birth trauma and in-utero insults are much less likely than simple genetic mutations or syndromes, and they are not highly suspected when patients are born with facial weakness. Every condition of congenital facial paralysis is managed a little bit differently. Quite often, patients do beautifully from a developmental standpoint, and do not require any intervention at all until they become school-age and they get interested in trying to achieve more facial balance or have a more meaningful smile.  Interestingly, children who are not able to close their eye well even from birth, are able to adapt much more easily than adults who lose facial function.  There are many options for children with congenital facial paralysis, ranging from simple injections to weaken the overactive healthy side of the face, all the way through surgery to restore dynamic smile. Physical therapy also plays an important role in optimizing function for children, and by around the age of four, children are able to be fully cooperative with this type of exercise. Most centers would agree that children below the age of five or six are not as good candidates as patients over that age, for formal facial reanimation, because as children grow their vessels get larger and the likelihood of successful muscle transfers becomes higher.  For that reason, the earliest we typically perform facial reanimation surgeries is age 5-6. 

            Syndromes that commonly are associated with facial weakness include Goldenhar’s Syndrome/hemifacial microsomia, CHARGE Association, and VACTREL syndrome.

Bilateral facial paralysis can be caused by a number of conditions. The most common of these are the congenital condition, Moebius syndrome, or Lyme disease.  Another frequent cause of bilateral facial paralysis is Guillain-Barré syndrome, which is an ascending polyneuropathy, with an auto-immune component.   There is a variant of GBS that only involves the face, which is called Miller Fisher syndrome, and is treated the same way as GBS. Often GBS and Miller Fisher syndrome are triggered by some kind of viral infection. 

            Other causes of bilateral facial paralysis include bilateral skull fractures involving both temporal bones, certain kinds of brain infections like meningitis, certain cancers like lymphoma that get into the spinal fluid, causing bilateral weakness.  Sarcoidosis, a granulomatous disease, can also cause bilateral facial paralysis, as can certain kinds of leukemia, infectious mononucleosis (mono), and acute HIV infection.

            Treatment for bilateral facial paralysis is completely dependent upon what has caused it. Certain conditions, like temporal bone fractures, might require surgery, where others require medical therapy specifically to control the disease which is causing the nerve problem. Extremely personalized diagnosis and management is essential when patients develop bilateral facial weakness.

 Contact us at (617) 573-3641

or visit MassEyeAndEar.org

Massachusetts Eye and Ear  Boston, MA

Designed by TJ Danenza

Request an

Appointment

(617) 573-3641